Rack it up.

I racked my batch of Bennie’s Midnight Lark today. The siphon worked perfectly and gave me a little flashback to high school chemistry class. I liked it.

The beer is a really nice rich color. Pretty clear too, but a few floaties are sitting right on the top. They look small and piecey like fragments of grain husks or something. The sludge at the bottom of bucket #1 went right into the compost. Smelled hoppy, and not nearly as offensive as it looked.

I’m glad it’s in a glass carboy now so I can obsessively look at it. Although it’s pretty much still now, no bubbles.

Next step is priming/bottling, woohoo! From what I’ve read, regular granulated sugar is fine to use. But I may call the folks at the homebrew store just to be sure.

2 comments on “Rack it up.

  1. Ms. A says:

    As bottling day approaches, I’m realizing that I’m going to be real tempted to taste the flat beer. Hmmm. Could be disgusting.

  2. Jen says:

    We always taste ours. Not disgusting, per se, but not delicious. Just don’t let it convince you that the beer is bad!

Leave a Reply

