First batch pitched and going: Midnight Sun

Last night I stayed up ridiculously late brewing my first ever batch of homebrew.  I couldn’t wait for a more convenient time, I was that excited. I’m calling it Midnight Sun because it was pitched at midnight, but the recipe is actually called AHS Texas Kolsch, and the credit (for the recipe at least) belongs to the brewcrew at Austin Homebrew Supply.   They are a great bunch of folks… very welcoming and knowledgeable.

Since it’s my first batch ever, I’m not expecting they’d have the faintest interest in taking credit for anything that happened to those ingredients once they were loaded in my trusty Subaru.

Dear Golden Ale, will you be delicious? (Will you even be beer?)

I hope on my second batch, I won’t feel compelled to check for signs of life (bubbles in the airlock) every hour. It’s been cold the last few days, so I thought the beer might feel a little chilly in the house. I lovingly wrapped a towel around its girthy 5 gallon container this morning, hoping to cozy it up to the perfect happy fermentation temperature.  Come on bubbles…

2 comments on “First batch pitched and going: Midnight Sun

  1. “I hope on my second batch, I won’t feel compelled to check for signs of life (bubbles in the airlock) every hour.”

    I brew often and I still check obsessively! Always good information to know the lag time of your yeast and how much activity it’s getting. At least that’s what I tell myself. LOL

    Looking forward to more posts.

    • Ms. A says:

      Yes indeed. As an update, bubbles started nice and steady about 12-13 hours later. Ahh relief! Now it’s happily bubbling away in my kitchen. I just tarted up a little brew sheet for taking notes. I’ll post it here shortly. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

